I keep crying. It must be SUMMER!

My friend recently informed me that when the weather gets hot, people become MEAN! I have been reduced to tears a couple of times this week over mean comments from people and today I decided to recognize that maybe they are just reacting to their own stuff. I’m not going to let it get me down any more!

I am so excited about my paintings right now! I finished my second in the Little People series and I’m making plans to start my third one next Monday. The plan is to finish six of these before school starts in the Fall and I am starting to feel like I could be done with that goal far earlier than expected! I haven’t emailed the new one to my mentor yet. Still feeling “not quite done” and it’s still existing in the studio without a signature. Maybe soon I’ll feel ready for the criticism. And hoping he won’t say something involving the word “redo”. I’m currently planning about three hours work on this one. For now, here she is:

thespacebetween

For those of you that don’t know, my brother and sister in law are adopting a little girl and she is due in TWO WEEKS! I cannot explain how excited I am to meet her! I’ve already decided that I’m going to be the “cool” Aunt. We will visit art museums and I’ll be the one she calls from her dorm one day when she is too scared to call home. But until then, I got her a pink hoodie and tiny pink converse to wear. Also planning on giving a couple artistically inclined gifts when she arrives. It’s going to be awesome.

minime

Happy Summer, friends!

3 responses to “I keep crying. It must be SUMMER!

  1. You are SO GOOD on that Little People series you’re doing. OH MY!
    And you ARE the cool aunt. Oh yes.
    About that first paragraph, YES, folks often just react to ‘their own stuff’ and we get the junk from THEIR stuff. Good point you made.

    See you soon.

  2. auntbea0417

    In theory, being the one she calls from the dorm room sounds really cool, but in reality, you will be the scared one for fear you might give the wrong advise….good thing that won’t be for a really long time.

  3. KJ

    I know what you mean about being emotional in the Summer. The heat does crazy things to me too. I’m either crabby and irritated or ultra sensitive about everything. It makes me feel horrible, but I can’t seem to get it under control no matter what.

    I know that you WILL be the cool Aunt. Georgia is a lucky little girl to have your family.

Leave a Reply

Calendar

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

In My Head

"I'm already out of foolproof ideas so don't ask me how to get started. It's all uncharted." - Sara Barielles
