Mind Games and Small Workspaces

Cleaned up my office tonight in an effort to clear the room for painting. Unfortunately, all that ended up happening was me stumbling upon mountains of unfinished projects, memories and gifts I never got around to sending out at Christmas time. But at least it’s clean. Tomorrow, it will be all painting, all night. I swear.

I’ve been thinking a lot about my productivity issue that seems to be slowly infecting my brain. With school over for the semester and another week before it starts up again, I find it nearly impossible to get work done in my own home. I wonder why that is? On the day of our final critique in painting we discussed each others work and the subject of conciously controlling our work environment came up quite a bit. There was encouragement for two of the painters in the room to get theirs under control and I couldn’t help but feel that perhaps that’s part of my problem.

In case you’re unaware, I’m currently sitting with four unfinished paintings in my office, all at about 90% completion. My mentor said the other day while looking at my final painting, “Two hours more and you’re done.” He said it with such matter-of-fact assurance that it almost made me cry. He’s been giving me pep-talks involving metaphors for the art world. Pumping up my confidence by talking about my natural ability and all the while, smiling at me when I feel like I’m not worthy of any of the praise. I’m convinced that most of this is a mind game that I’m playing with myself. Because really, the only person who decides whether or not I’ve got what it takes is me. Plain and simple.

Hmm. Interesting. I think I just decided to paint for an hour before bed. Here’s a picture of all my paintings up at final critique. The one I’m painting on now is the Fisher Price one on the top right. Enjoy!

critique

One response to “Mind Games and Small Workspaces

  1. Jaclyn

    Ummm…you amaze me. I thought the Fisher-Price one was a photo at first, my friend. WOW, WOW, WOW. There are no words. 🙂

    Love you, and so glad you’ve found your “thing.” It’s been fun to watch. See you Friday!

Leave a Reply

Calendar

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

In My Head

"I'm already out of foolproof ideas so don't ask me how to get started. It's all uncharted." - Sara Barielles
